Star Trek Action Group

The Star Trek Action Group was a Fanclub founded by Jenny Elson & Terry Elson in 1973 with the aim of raising enough money to run a Star Trek Convention in Britain. They ran the first UK convention in September 1974. The club was generally referred to as “STAG”.

STAG was run by a new committee, Janet Quarton, Sheila Clark, Beth Hallam and Helen McCarthy from October 1975. McCarthy resigned in 1977 and the rest of the committee continued to run the club until October 1981, when it was taken over by another committee led by Sylvia Billings.

The club published a newsletter quarterly in its first year, then bimonthly, for at least 113 issues, until 1994.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: